Stijn Aertgeerts wins with “Bipolarity”

Stijn Aertgeerts wins audience and composition prize

Ten compositions were to be judged anonymously by the jury, in which Paul Hindmarsh, Oliver Waespi and Lucy Pankhurst were represented. EBBA Music Commission Chairman Paul Hindmarsh comments: “It has been an exceptional year. All ten compositions that we had to judge deserve much praise for the imagination, the craftsmanship and their handling of the medium brass band.

Three compositions were awarded the narrower rating, namely “Bipolarity” by Stijn Aertgeerts (B), “A Dialogue of Transmogrified” Souls by Daniel Hall (GB) and “Ironbright” by Paul Saggers (GB). The three works were skillfully interpreted by the well-known “Brass Band Treize Etoiles”.

Foto: 4barsrest

The results of the 7th European Composers’ Competition at the Casino Barrière Montreux, Switzerland, were as follows:

  1. Daniel Hall with “A dialogue of transmogrified souls…” (Dialogue of transformed souls…)
  2. Paul Saggers with “Ironbright.”
  3. Stijn Aertgeerts with “Bipolarity”

In addition, Stijn Aertgeerts won the audience and band prize for his composition.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top